Awards 2012

46th Annual John D. Thompson Resident Research Day

Awards and Recognition 2012

Outstanding Fellow and Resident Research Proposals 
These award recipients’ proposals were chosen based on innovation, significance, feasibility, and impact.

Dr. Jennifer Kawwass (REI, PGY5) for her proposal Tubal Factor and Preterm Delivery after in vitro Fertilization.

Dr. Kathleen Sullivan (PGY2) for her project Evaluation of the Zero Tolerance Policy at Emory University Hospital Midtown: Elective Delivery at Less Than 39 Weeks Gestation and Neonatal and Maternal Outcomes.

Dr. Rachel Paccione (PGY2) for her project  Adherence to Guidelines for Reproductive Health Services in Privately Insured Young Women in the United States.

Dr. Katherine Shields (PGY2) for her project  Cervical Cancer Screening Application: Validity and Acceptability Among Providers. 


Awards for Completed Research Projects 

Each trainee has identified key knowledge gaps, and developed and tested hypotheses.  Their findings have added new information to our understanding of key issues with respect to reproductive and overall health.

Excellence in Research by a Fellow

Dr. Vitaly Kushnir for his fellowship thesis project  Mitochondrial Role in Reproductive Aging.

Excellence in Clinical Investigation

Dr. Erin Berry-Bibee(PGY4) for her project Characteristics of Women Who Fail to Return for Delayed IUD Insertion for Post-Abortion Contraception.

Dr. Holly Shen (PGY4) for her project Misoprostol for IUD Insertion in Nulliparous Women: Patient Perceived Pain and Overall Satisfaction at 1 Week.

Excellence in Research Inquiry

Dr. Charlene Emmanuel (PGY4)for her project Gynecologists’ Attitudes Regarding Group B Streptococcus Vaccination: A Survey of the Georgia Obstetrical and Gynecological Society.”


Awards for Excellence in Teaching 

The recipients were selected by the residents for their promotion of the highest standards of residency education. Consideration was given to their interest in teaching, ability to teach surgical techniques, approachability, receptivity to questions, and commitment to the educational program, clinical knowledge, and overall value to our residency program during this year.

Family Planning - Dr. Carrie Cwiak

Gynecologic Oncology – Dr. Cyril Spann

Gynecologic Surgery - Dr. Deborah Karp

Maternal-Fetal Medicine - Dr. Michael Lindsay

Obstetrics and Continuity Clinics at Grady – Dr. John White

Obstetrics at Emory - Dr. Jessica Arluck

Reproductive Sciences - Dr. Jessica Spencer

Research - Dr. Lisa Haddad

The residents also selected a member of our clinical faculty for the promotion of the highest standards in resident education.

The 2011-2012 Outstanding Community Faculty Award was awarded to Dr. Joe Tate.

Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology 2011-2012 CREOG Excellence in Teaching Award - Dr. Kurt Martinuzzi.

Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics 2011-2012 APGO Excellence in Teaching Award - Dr. Mary Dolan.

2011-2012 Outstanding Staff Award – Claire Hackworth.

Dr. Abed Sinno is the PGY3 recipient and Dr. Erin Berry-Bibee is the PGY4 recipient of the Excellence in Teaching awards.

Dr. Martina Badell (MFM) PGY6 is the recipient of the Excellence in Teaching award for a fellow.

Resident Clinical and Professional Service Awards
Outstanding Laparoendoscopic Resident Surgeon, from the Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons:  Dr. Alisa Kachikis (PGY3) was selected by the faculty for this award for consistently demonstrating excellence in the surgical theater.  In addition to her certificate, Dr. Kachikis will receive a one year subscription to the society’s clinical journal. 

Special Excellence in Endoscopic Procedures, from the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists (AAGL).  This award is selected by the faculty for a PGY4 resident who consistently demonstrated excellence in endoscopic procedures. The faculty chose Dr. Sunny Seo (PGY4) to receive this honor.

Faculty were asked to consider all clinical practice areas and to choose a 1st, 2nd or 3rd year resident who consistently demonstrated Excellence in each of these 6 clinical domains during the past year.  The recipients of the Outstanding Clinical Service Awards are:

Gynecologic Oncology – Dr. Erica Fletcher

Gynecologic Surgery – Dr. Juan Alvarez

Maternal-Fetal Medicine -  Dr. Angela Martin

Obstetrics- Dr. Angel Temponi

Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery – Dr. Catherine Hudson

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility- Dr. Heather Hipp


The Esprit de Corps Award is voted on by all the residents and is awarded to the resident who best exemplified teamwork, spirit, and pride in the Emory residency program this academic year.

Dr. Angel Temponi is this year’s recipient of the Esprit de Corps Award.

The Dr. Robert Hatcher Award was created to honor his dedication to Emory’s residency program and to his commitment to educating health providers about contraceptive choices. Members of the Family Planning Division voted to select the resident who has consistently demonstrated excellence in family planning services and a commitment to improving women’s reproductive health through education. Dr. Catherine Hudson is this years’ recipient of the Dr. Robert Hatcher Award.

The Dr. Luella Klein Award was created to honor Dr. Klein for the many significant contributions she has made as a leader in the specialty of women’s health and the example she has set for the importance of professional responsibility. She joined the Department in 1967 as the Director of the Maternal and Infant Care Project at Grady, a program she continues to lead more than 50 years later.  Every resident and MFM fellow to graduate from Emory has benefited from her wise counsel and vast clinical experience.

The Department leadership thus sought to develop an award in Dr. Klein’s honor to recognize a PYG 1, 2, or 3 resident who has consistently demonstrated exceptional qualities of leadership and professional responsibility and to encourage them to continue the amazing tradition established by Dr. Klein in taking initiative to set examples of professionalism and seeking leadership roles to benefit women’s health. 

Dr. Heather Hipp was chosen by her colleagues and the faculty to receive the Dr. Luella Klein Award.

Residents and faculty members were asked to select the senior resident who continually exemplifies professionalism and humanismexcelled in clinical service, and was an outstanding teacher and role model for junior residents and students.

Congratulations to Dr. Erin Berry-Bibee for being chosen as the Most Outstanding Senior Resident.